Our Mission

To unite the continent and its diaspora by:
  • Hosting and Organizing the Journey of atonement and reconciliation.
  • Facilitating and Coordinating trade and investment. 
  • Developing educational programs, resources, and an accessible base of information to assist the African Diaspora.
  • Promoting cooperation for development between and within the two regions.
  • Establishing Public-Private dialogue to wire the trade between the continent and the diaspora.
  • Conducting studies and research of trade facilitation and barriers to inform both parties about the business opportunities.
  •  Providing networking events with chambers and trade organizations on the continent and in the diaspora for an integrated private sector ecosystem.
  • Strengthening the economic climate, by providing opportunities for business owners, community leaders, and elected officials to network and develop an awareness of businesses and services offered by the 6th Region Chamber of Commerce within the African Diaspora communities.

Our Goals & Objectives

To nurture and educate nations giving priority to youth and women to broaden their knowledge of trade and the global economy.

To provide a leveled playing field in the global corporate arena, creating the largest independent multinational conglomerate of trade and investment in the world with an emphasis on the Americas, the Caribbean and the African continent.

To promote trade and investment between Africa, the Americas, the Caribbean, and the world.

To promote Cultural Heritage among Africa, the Americas, and the Caribbean.

To promote artists in entertainment, music, fashion, cuisine, literature, painting, and cinematic arts among Africa, the Americas, and the Caribbean.

Our Vision

To support the growth and development of the Continent, the African Diaspora and the indigenous people worldwide.



Within the African Union, there are 6 regions, namely, North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, East Africa, Southern Africa, and one last region, recognized in the African Union’s constitution as the “sixth region,” which is comprised of the African Diaspora. The diaspora was constituted in 2003 to encourage the participation of people of African origin living outside of the continent.



The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of 55 member states from various African countries. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the organization of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999).

The Economic Community of the 6th Region (ECO-6) is the Economic community of the 6th Region of the African Union. Its mission is to promote economic development thus Connecting Africa with its Diaspora and the Diaspora with Africa. ECO 6 Harmonizes cooperation between financial and business institutions for the proper allocation of land, labor, capital, and entrepreneurship for the sustainable development of Africa and its Diaspora.

ECO-6 promotes the enhancement of South-South Cooperation and the Economic integration between the Economic communities of:

  1. Caribbean Economic Community (CARICOM)
  2. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  3. Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CLCS)
  4. Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)
  5. Arab Maghreb Union (UMA)
  6. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
  7. The community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD)
  8. East African Community (EAC)
  9. Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)
  10. Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  11. West Indies Associated States Council of Minister (WIASCM)

ECO-6 promotes the interests of businesses within the 6th Region in a geographic area in which the Diaspora is a part. ECO-6 typically focuses on longer-term economic growth by attracting and connecting new businesses, developing existing businesses, and aimed at Diaspora Entrepreneurial Development through existing incubation programs.


In May 1963, 32 heads of independent African states met in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, to sign the charter creating Africa’s first post-independent continental institution, the Organization of African Unity (OAU). The OAU was the manifestation of the Pan-African vision for an Africa united and in control of its own destiny.

This was solemnized in the OAU charter, in which the founding fathers recognized that freedom, equality, justice, and dignity were essential objectives for the achievement of the legitimate aspirations of the African people. There was a need to promote understanding among African people and foster cooperation among African states in response to Africans’ aspirations for brotherhood and solidarity in a larger unity transcending ethnic and national differences.

The guiding philosophy was that of Pan-Africanism which centered on African socialism, promoted African unity, elevated the communal characteristics and practices of African communities, and strengthened a drive to embrace Africa’s culture and shared heritage.

The main objectives of the OAU were to rid the continent of the remaining vestiges of colonization and apartheid; to promote unity and solidarity amongst African states; to coordinate and intensify cooperation for development, to safeguard the sovereignty and territorial integrity of member states, and to promote international cooperation.

The OAU Charter spelled out the purpose of the organization specifically:

  • To promote the unity and solidarity of African states
  • To coordinate and intensify their cooperation and efforts to achieve a better life for the people of Africa
  • To defend their sovereignty, territorial integrity, and independence
  • To eradicate all forms of colonialism from Africa and
  • To promote international cooperation, with due regard to the United Nations’ charter and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.


  1. Brazil – 55.9 million, Brazil has an estimated 55.9 million people of African descent, making it the country with the largest African Diaspora population.
  2. The United States – 46.4 million.
  3. Haiti – 10.1 million.
  4. Dominican Republic – 9.2 million.
  5. Colombia – 4.9 million.

Do You Know the Size of the Diaspora?

Area of Africa | Area of China | Area of United States | Area of Europe

  • Africa is bigger than all of Europe, China, and the United States of America combined; however, on most of the world maps in books, Africa’s dimension is represented in a reduced size to create a visual illusion that Africa is small.
  • Africa is 60% arable land and carries 90% of raw materials.
    Africa has 40% of the world’s gold reserves and 33% of the diamond reserves.
  • Africa has 1.3 billion inhabitants with a predominantly youthful population.
  • Africa has over 30,000 medical recipes.
  • Africa represents the future of humanity. By 2050, Africa alone will be able to feed 9 billion mouths.